My Saved Shows
      You haven't saved any shows yet!

How Essex voted at the last General Election

24 Apr How Essex voted at the last General Election

By Simon Phetter

2015 was a very victorious year for the Tories here in Essex, one could say Essex was a sea of blue after a very positive general election result for the conservatives.

Giving the nation and MPs 51 days’ notice, Theresa May made the shock announcement outside Downing Street earlier this month that a snap general election would be conducted in May 2017 saying: “The country is coming together but Westminster is not.”

With this in mind we thought we would remind you how Essex voted at the last general election:

Basildon and Billericay – Conservative

Basildon South and Thurrock East – Conservative

Braintree – Conservative

Brentwood and Ongar – Conservative

Castle Point – Conservative

Clacton – Ukip

Chelmsford – Conservative

Colchester – Conservative

Harlow – Conservative

Harwich and Essex North – Conservative

Maldon – Conservative

Rayleigh and Wickford – Conservative

Rochford and Southend East – Conservative

Saffron Walden – Conservative

Thurrock – Conservative

Witham – Conservative

With 44 days to go, and so many more changes heading our way we will see how this year’s #GE2017 plays out.